Molinaro Signs Law Establishing
Independent Reapportionment Committee

Dutchess County Executive Marc Molinaro was joined today by Gregg Pulver, Chairman of the Dutchess County Legislature; Don Sagliano, Majority Leader of the Legislature; Hannah Black, Minority Leader of the Legislature; and Kristofer Munn, Assistant Minority Leader of the Legislature; as he signed a local law, establishing an Independent Reapportionment Committee to evaluate existing legislative districts and reapportion them as necessary, following each decennial census, to ensure equal and fair representation of all people in Dutchess County.

County Executive Molinaro said, “The passage and signing of this law affirm our willingness to reinvigorate and strengthen democracy in Dutchess County. Independent redistricting is a means to limit anti-democratic advantages, more strictly adhere to constitutional principles, and encourage competitive elections. A healthy democracy requires a constant quest for perfection – to find what is right and make it better and to find what is wrong and fix it. It requires careful tending and diligent effort. Today we celebrate our democratic system by breathing new air, accountability and independence into it.”

The local law, which is subject to public referendum, is the culmination of work by the bipartisan Ethics and Reapportionment Task Force and both caucuses of the Legislature. The local law was adopted unanimously by the County Legislature earlier this month.

The adoption of independent reapportionment follows the adoption of term limits for certain County elected officials and updates to the Code of Ethics establishing stricter and more thorough guidance of ethical conduct to prevent improper influence in County Government.